Saint Francis Awards 22 Scholarships to Local Students

Saint Francis Foundation and the Saint Francis Auxiliary awarded healthcare scholarships to twenty-two local students in August. Each student received $2,000 in scholarships toward a degree in a healthcare-related profession.

The Saint Francis Healthcare Scholarship Program was established in 1980. Saint Francis Foundation and the Saint Francis Auxiliary fund the program. Since its inception, the program has provided more than $744,000 in education scholarships to college students to encourage participation in professional healthcare careers. Scholarship recipients must have completed at least one year in an accredited healthcare program and be currently enrolled, maintain a minimum of 3.0 GPA and complete the application and essay requirements by the scheduled deadline. They must also reside within the Saint Francis service area, as defined in the application.

The 2020 Saint Francis Healthcare Scholarship Program Recipients are:

  • Brooke Adams, MO – Huttegger-Scherer Memorial Scholarship
  • Kaleb Arends, MO – Lee George and Katherine Jane Cochran Memorial Scholarship
  • James Barnes, MO – Joseph and Harriette Hunter McCrate Scholarship
  • Laura Bauman, MO – Evalyn and S. David Nunley Scholarship
  • Elise Bruenderman, MO – Saint Francis Auxiliary 125th Anniversary Scholarship
  • Malary Burger, MO – Christen Joyel Aufdenberg Memorial Scholarship
  • Lauren Carron, MO – Mark F. Scully Nursing Scholarship
  • Miranda Craft, MO – Edyth M. Davis Scholarship
  • Brittney Dirnberger, MO – Ken Hayden Memorial Nursing Scholarship
  • Madison Dush, MO – Raymond A. and Lillian K. Ritter Scholarship
  • Josh Greaser, MO – Bess Estes Healthcare Scholarship
  • Madelyn Johnson, MO – Clara D. Newnam Memorial Scholarship
  • Grace Pehle, MO – Saint Francis Auxiliary Physician Honor Scholarship
  • Kaylee Scherer, MO – Sisters of Saint Francis Nursing Scholarship
  • Emma Sherrow, MO – Bernadean Campbell Memorial Scholarship
  • Hanna Stam, MO – Raymond A. and Lillian K. Ritter Scholarship
  • Megan Steward, IL – Saint Francis Auxiliary Healthcare Scholarship
  • Taylor Tripp, MO – Earl Jr. and Lori Wills Memorial Scholarship
  • Wil Walker, MO – Carrie Suedekum Memorial Scholarship
  • Ashley Wheeler, MO – Lucy Ellen Towse Memorial Scholarship
  • Justin White, IL – Mamie Hall Memorial Scholarship
  • Brooke Whitledge, MO – Susan E. Hinkebein Memorial Scholarship

The members of the 2020 Scholarship Committee include: Betty Carroll, Anne Edmonds, Lori Fowler, Dori Lage, Lisa Newcomer and Debbie Schumer.

For more information about the Saint Francis Healthcare Scholarship Program, call 573-331-5489 or visit