Saint Francis Foundation Awards 23 Scholarships to Students

Saint Francis Foundation and the Saint Francis Auxiliary awarded a total of 23 healthcare scholarships to local students in July. Stacy Meyer was awarded the Steven C. Bjelich Executive Scholarship. The scholarship is available to graduate students pursuing a Master’s degree in healthcare administration and awards $5,000 to one recipient every two years. 22 other scholarships were awarded with each student receiving $2,000 in scholarship funds toward a degree in a healthcare-related profession. Those recipients and their scholarships include:

  • Britni Helton – Mamie Hall Memorial Scholarship
  • Chloe Pipkin – Bess Estes Healthcare Scholarship
  • Allison Vaughn – Huttegger-Scherer Memorial Scholarship
  • Kailey Bell – Lucy Ellen Towse Memorial Scholarship
  • Alyssa Nolen – Clara D. Newnam Memorial Scholarship
  • Karolina Pogorzelski – Raymond A. and Lillian K. Ritter Scholarship (one of two)
  • Sean Merk – Raymond A. and Lillian K. Ritter Scholarship (two of two)
  • Kyla Beel – Christen Joyel Aufdenberg Memorial Scholarship
  • Melanie Hayden – Bernadean Campbell Memorial Scholarship Cortney Watson – Sisters of Saint Francis Nursing Scholarship
  • Logan Lemons – Susan F. Hinkebein Memorial Scholarship
  • Austin Bucher – Carrie Suedekum Memorial Scholarship
  • Katelyn Fehr – Evelyn and S. David Nunley Scholarship
  • Rebecca Reed – Earl Jr. and Lori Wills Memorial Scholarship
  • Sydney Stark – Joseph and Harriette Hunter McCrate Scholarship
  • Brendan Gross – Lee George and Katherine Jane Cochran Memorial Scholarship
  • Madelynne Ohmes – Edythe M. Davis Scholarship
  • Claire Bruenderman – Saint Francis Auxiliary 125th Anniversary Scholarship
  • Abigail Heisserer – Ken Hayden Memorial Nursing Scholarship
  • Shannon Buessink – Saint Francis Auxiliary Physician Honor Scholarship
  • McKenzie Goodson – Saint Francis Auxiliary Scholarship
  • Tatum McCollough – Mark F. Scully Nursing Scholarship

Scholarship recipients must have completed at least one year in an accredited healthcare program and be currently enrolled, maintain a minimum of 3.0 GPA and complete the application and essay requirements by the scheduled deadline. They must also reside within the Saint Francis service area as defined in the application.

The Saint Francis Healthcare Scholarship Program was established in 1980. Saint Francis Foundation, Saint Francis Auxiliary and generous donors fund the program. Since its inception, the program has provided more than $793,000 in education scholarships to college students to encourage participation in professional healthcare careers. To learn more about the Saint Francis Healthcare Scholarship Program, visit the scholarship program website or call 573-331-3192.